Can you really eat sushi safely on a gluten-free diet? We tell you what ingredients you have to watch

Do not hesitate: eating sushi is good and cheap. There are more and more restaurants and places where you can order or order this delicious dish. Unlike sashimi, sushi is a food made of rice and vinegar that is combined with different fresh ingredients, which is what gives it variety and grace. And there are so many sushi recipes that it’s easy to add to your diet if you don’t want to gain weight. But what if you’re allergic, intolerant, or simply don’t want to eat gluten? Here you have all the answers.

First of all: the common ingredients of sushi, such as rice, fish, seaweed and vegetables, do not contain gluten. However, there is a wide variety of sushi available and some types include ingredients that are not suitable for people following a gluten-free diet.

Rice, vinegar and sushi accessories

Sushi rice is prepared with water, rice vinegar, sugar, and salt. All of these ingredients are usually gluten-free, but some types of vinegar, such as straight or malt, do contain gluten. That’s why it’s best to check the ingredient list before eating.

There is a lots of other dressings, fillings and sauces for gluten-free sushi including seaweed, fish and shellfish, meat or cooked eggs. None of this contains gluten. The only thing to be careful about is the sauces used in its preparationsuch as teriyaki, which may contain gluten. Pure wasabi does not contain gluten.

all the vegetables, such as avocado, cucumber, carrot or onions, do not contain gluten either. The plain tofu It’s also generally gluten-free, but added flavors or other ingredients may have it. It is best to check the label or the restaurant before eating.

It is best to take alone soy sauce or tamari that is specifically labeled as “gluten-free”. Mayonnaise should also not contain gluten when made fresh, but prepared varieties may contain gluten-containing additives.

Ingredients and toppings to avoid on a gluten-free diet

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, barley, and triticale and can therefore be found in any product that includes or comes into contact with these grains. There are a number of sushi ingredients, toppings and sauces that contain gluten. For example, the imitation crab, a fish made into a paste and pressed into shape that often contains wheat starch, meaning it also contains gluten. On the other hand, some types of sushi contain fish or vegetables. battered and friedwhat is known as tempura. This dough is usually made with wheat flour that contains gluten. Other ingredients such as shrimp can be breaded and fried, making them unsuitable for a gluten-free diet.

The soy sauce It is traditionally made with wheat as an ingredient, although it is also true that there are some gluten-free varieties. And there are other sauces that are made with soy or may contain other sources of gluten, including Teriyaki sauce, eel sauce, barbecue sauce, and Ponzu sauce. The best is read the label or check with the restaurant before eating.

Tips for eating gluten-free sushi

There are several things you can do to ensure your sushi is gluten-free. It is always best to choose freshly prepared sushi. If the sushi is made fresh, you can specify which ingredients you would like or dislike. Store-bought sushi is best avoided, as it may contain additives or ingredients that contain gluten. Also, it can be difficult to verify how it was prepared. And another thing: go for the simple. The less complicated you make your sushi (use only one or two fillings), the easier it will be to control what goes into it.

The truth is that both people who follow a diet gluten-free like those with Celiac Disease They can enjoy many kinds of sushi. However, some ingredients and sauces may be unsuitable, such as regular soy sauce, imitation crab, tempura, breadcrumbs, or a variety of sauces. Therefore, if you have to follow a gluten-free diet to protect your health, it is important to check what ingredients are being used.

WE RECOMMEND YOU: